CAPTAIN BLACK COSPLAY RECIPE – PART 4# ‘GUN AND HOLSTER’

Cosplay, Costume, Science Fiction, Sewing

mainimage

Howdy-ho cosplay kids!

Don’t get too upset, but this is the penultimate recipe in the Captain Black cosplay series. Missed the earlier installments? Use this time machine to go back and read them.

If you’ve been building along at home, you should have the entire outfit. I hope you’re wearing it right now – and nothing else 😉 That’s what I’m going to imagine anyway. Of course you’ll need a gun to avenge the human attack on your Mysteron friends, and that’s what I’m covering today (gun making, not vengeance). I’m also including the holster design, because you can’t just keep it in your pocket, even if you like people to know you’re pleased to see them.

Ingredients:

A4 sheet of thin black plastic

Large turkey baster (unused)

Potato gun

Rectangular wooden doweling cut into little cubes

Black leather style material (ideally use the same material as you used for the hat)

Black thread

Tools:

One small sewing machine, with added grit and determination (and spare needles if using a thick material)

Masking tape

Silver spray paint (or paint paint, up to you)

Scalpel & steel ruler

Chopping board

Gaffa tape (around 92.37% of all cosplay outfits are made from this, with the remaining amount being the maker’s tears)

Method:

Gun

DSC_0251

The Spectrum gun is a small pistol with a long barrel. The top and rear of the body are the colour of the agent (black in our case) and the remainder is metallic silver. The on screen guns did not have triggers (what with puppets lacking fingers and all) and I chose to be true to the original (as well as saving myself from having to make a trigger).

DSC_0237

Here you can see both the top and bottom piece.

To craft the main part I used a cheap potato gun and turkey baster. Once I took the potato gun apart I ended up with a nice handle that had a cylindrical point. I cut the squishy end off of the baster and pressed it over the potato part. I also snipped a little off the end of the baster, making it look more gun-like. If you are keen on precise details, you can also sand off the measurements from the side of the baster. Admittedly it is hard to see these once you paint it, so really depends how anal you are. I’ve discovered I’m full anal, but that was no real surprise. Now paint or spray paint this whole bit metallic silver.

For the body of the gun, start by looking at the on-screen version to get the shape. I made this by cutting ‘flat pack’ shapes out of thin black plastic. It consists of; two sides, a top piece, back piece, front piece (with hole for the barrel) and a bottom piece. Use masking tape to stick it together from the inside, and try putting it over the first bit. This will help you to check it all sits together nicely, the sizing is right, etc. Once you’ve made any refinements, and are happy, use masking tape to cover the top parts and sides – all the bits you want to keep black. I used black plastic, as it suited Captain Black. If were making this for another agent, simply use their colour of plastic. Now paint these pieces as you did the handle and barrel. To put this all together I used small cubes of wood.

I forgot to photograph mine, luckily the internet didn't.

I forgot to photograph mine, luckily the internet didn’t.

Glue gun these cubes to the inside corners of the plastic. IMPORTANT – do this on the inside (i.e. the part you don’t see). What these cubes do is give you something to attach the pieces onto. If you try and glue the tiny edges of the plastic, it’s nearly impossible to get them to stick and hold. I destroyed two sets of parts before I devised this solution. Leave the bottom part off until the rest dries.

Finally, place the top piece on by putting the barrel through the front and sliding it into place. This is where having a bit of the potato gun body left comes in handy, because it gives you something to glue on to. Turn the whole thing upside down, and if you love glue gunning as much as me, fill the inside body full of glue. If you don’t love glue gunning (what’s wrong with you!?!) or are on a budget, just use enough so that it sticks. Then stick the base into place (mine was problematic, however, you don’t really see it).

My untidy bottom.

My untidy bottom.

Now have a Spectrum gun. When fully dried, spend at least 45 minutes re-enacting the opening titles.      

Dun dun dun dun dun dun dunnnnnn - yeah, I rock!

Dun dun dun dun dun dun dunnnnnn – yeah, I rock!

Holster

HOLSTER

Don’t leave your beloved gun out in the cold. Give it a nice place to hang out! My holster was made using the same material as the hat. To get the pattern I needed, I began by getting a cheap kids cowboy set, this usually comes with a holster that you can take apart and use as a template.

DSC_0244

Scale the template up as needed, ensuring that the tip of your gun barrel protrudes slightly from the bottom of it. Thankfully the way it attaches to the belt is nice and simple. Leave a rectangular stump at the top that you’ll fold back on itself to create a loop.

CBC014

The great thing is you can easily masking tape or pin the template together, tweak it, and get it perfect before committing.

DSC_0240

When happy, cut your material, leaving around a half inch spare to do some hemming. Hem it up, sew it together and you’ll have yourself a lovely holster.   

GUN2

Epilogue

You’re now ready to take down those evil humans and with their own weapons too, awesome. As always please holla at me if I can help in anyway, just scream into any of the social media voids listed below, and I’ll hear you. I’ve also had some enquiries about costumes commissions, happy to provide a quote, and even happier to give you advice to undertake them yourself. For me the making of them is the best part, but I know not everyone has the time for that in this busy age!

I’m confident you’ll be made up by the next, and final, installment of this cosplay recipe, quite literally, as I cover the makeup and hair styling to accompany this costume. You’d think a Scotsman couldn’t get any paler, but you’d be surprised!

And remember, if it wasn’t meant to be fun they’d call it Coswork.

Love and hugs,

Oz

Tweeter me @OzPlayOnline

Book of Faces

2 thoughts on “CAPTAIN BLACK COSPLAY RECIPE – PART 4# ‘GUN AND HOLSTER’

Leave a Reply

